From MediaCorp To RTM

3 Apr

SINGAPORE : MediaCorp artiste Maiya Rahman, who was the first runner-up in last year’s Anugerah 2007 competition organised by Suria, has been invited to perform at Radio Televisyen Malaysia’s (RTM) 52nd anniversary concert on Saturday.

This prestigious event typically features artistes from countries around the region such as Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and Brunei.

This year’s celebration is no different.

“At first, I was shocked and honoured because I’m singing together with all the big stars,” said Maiya, who landed in Kuala Lumpur at 4am yesterday and was in rehearsals by noon.

“I’m new to the business, so I hope I can perform on the same level as the rest of them,” she said of the roster of stars that includes Siti Nurhaliza.

“I’m happy to be here, but at the same time, I’m a bit nervous. I take it one day at a time to improve.”

“I’ve always loved to sing at home, at community centres and at weddings,” said the 19-year-old singer, who started singing in public when she was 14.

“It was my parents who encouraged me to try for the Anugerah competition.”

She will be performing a duet with Malaysian singer Izwan Pillus, as well as in a “girl group” segment with singers from Malaysia, Indonesia and Brunei. Among the other talents performing are popular Malaysian singers Izwan Pillus, Misha Omar, Adibah Noor and Elyana.

Maiya will also have a solo spot performing Nongkrong, which means “chill out” in Malay – not something she’s able to do at the moment. “I can’t chill out, what with all the nerves!” she said. “I hope I can do Singapore proud.” –

Channel News Asia

Leave a Reply

